• Club of the Year 2014

In December 2014, Galway Lawn Tennis Club was honoured by Badminton Ireland in receiving the prestigious award for Club of the Year 2014 . We are delighted to have been recognised as an outstanding club and hope continue to show our members and colleagues why we deserved this award.

A representative group from GLTC attended the annual Badminton Ireland Awards in Dublin and came home with three outstanding achievements, including the prestigious award for Club of the Year 2014.

The Badminton Ireland Awards Night is an annual event to recognise and award contributions made by clubs and individuals throughout the country. Galway Lawn Tennis Club were nominated for an impressive three awards on the night including individual nominations for two of our members, as well as Galway County Badminton Association being additionally nominated for two of their own awards.

The Badminton Ireland ‘Club of the Year’ Award is presented each year to a club that has endeavoured to promote and support the growth of badminton both socially and competitively throughout the year. Finalists are selected based on an application form containing 44 detailed questions about the facilities and opportunities available for the club’s members. The winner is chosen after a vote is held by the Executive Board members of Badminton Ireland. Galway Lawn Tennis Club are both honoured and extremely proud to have been awarded such a prestigious award.

Long-term GLTC member and Badminton Captain 2014 – 2016 Micheal O’ Morain was nominated for Volunteer of the Year Award and came home with the outstanding ‘Connacht Volunteer of the Year’ Award for his dedication and enthusiasm in contributing to badminton at both GLTC, Galway County and Connacht Badminton. A spokesperson for the GLTC Badminton Section was quoted in saying “Micheal has been an active member of the GLTC Badminton community for over thirty years. His commitment, knowledge and expertise have been invaluable to the growth and promotion of badminton within our club and without it we are sure we would not be half as successful or populous as we are now.”

Resident GLTC Coach and Galway County Manager Tommy Hehir was also nominated for the ‘Coach of the Year’ Award for the second year in a row for his amazing achievements in the badminton world over the last two decades. Tommy has coached many teams that have gotten to county, provincial and All-Ireland Finals including, in the last two years alone, the 2014 Grade E and 2013 Grade G All-Ireland winning teams.

Galway County Badminton Association were also winners of the prestigious ‘County of the Year’ Award on the night, an especially amazing achievement in the face of such strong competition. Galway County currently has over 400 players actively participating in the 2014/2015 season, with clubs from Inisboffin to Ballygar and everywhere in between, to name just a few of the 23 clubs around Galway City and County. This huge number is a true testament to the fun and sport of badminton in Galway.

Finally, the Galway League, in which GLTC is heavily represented with four teams currently competing in Grades D, E, F and H for the 2014/15 season, was also nominated for the ‘League of the Year’ Award. In competition with such huge organisations such as the Dublin & District League, to be a shortlisted finalist for this award is a great achievement for Galway Badminton. Congratulations to all involved in this outstanding achievement.

For all our latest updates and news

Email us at badminton@gltc.ie

join us on our social media pages:


and add us as @gltc_bado on Snapchat